NOW WE ARE GRATEFUL ~ Day 21

We are at the 21 day mark. Tell me, have you grown or acquired new Gratitude skills? I know I have.

21 Days of Cultivating Gratitude ~ Italianliving1.wordpress.com

This experiment of mine, born of an impromptu speech which mushroomed into a 21 day challenge, has been a lesson in fortitude and expansion for me. If I’ve held up my side of the contract, you’ve discovered a few techniques and morsels of inspiration to bring you closer to a daily practice of Gratitude. It is my belief, through practicing Gratitude, we increase contact with those aspects of our lives we so love to interpret in poems, sing along with in lyrics and yearn for, through quiet nights of solitude:                                               Love, joy, bliss, happiness, laughter, inspiration, companionship…

** 21 Days ago we learned the 5 Steps of Cultivating Gratitude.

1 ~ Taking Stock

2 ~ Practicing Acts of Kindness

3 ~ Practicing Positivity through your Thoughts, Feelings and Actions

4 ~ Awakening Forgiveness

5 ~ Celebrating Your Blessings

** I loved and learned from Brené Brown to practice Joy & Gratitude by LIVING Joy & Gratitude, through a tangible Gratitude practice. I’ve added a nightly practice of taking 5 minutes as I’m drifting off to sleep, to review what I’m grateful for that day. For example tonight, I’ll be thanking the universe for my Mom. I’m staying at her place in Vancouver Canada, sleeping in her spare room, savouring her cooking, strolling beside her along the water and waking to the sounds of her preparing coffee and breakfast for me ~ her little girl. We are never too old for our Moms…

** We journeyed through The Five Realms of Gratitude.

** We discovered our way to Joy is through Gratitude in  an inspiring talk from David Steindi-Rast. “The root of joy is gratefulness…It is not Joy that makes us Grateful – it is Gratitude that makes us   Joyful…..”David Steindl-Rast: Want to be Happy? Be Grateful.

th10

** New ways of Practicing Acts of Kindness with the added bonus of the universe having a reimbursement system that returns to you what you give out. Love for Love ~ Honesty for Honesty ~ Kindness for Kindness

** Awaking Forgiveness from a true master Azim Khamisa, who forgave his son’s killer.

** Through my metaphysical mentor Bernie, we discovered the 3 Steps to Asking:

#1 ~ A Request, Affirmation or Prayer, (choose the word which resonates with you) is “The Question”. Once you’ve asked for what you want, stop and listen for the answer.

#2 ~ When requesting for the People, Places or Things you want in life, introduce these ideas to your consciousness through a powerful set-up statement of:                                Please give me THIS _________________ OR BETTER.

# 3 ~ Show Gratitude to the People, Places and Things currently in your life.

** We touched on the below experiment with Gratitude through writing a letter/note to another person for the influence they have had in our life?  An Experiment In Gratitude and I personally find it a brilliant demonstration in the Power Of Gratitude.

** Moving Beyond and Releasing Grievance assisted us after the realization each Grievance we hold in life is a “self imposed” burden, similar to a 10 pound rock you carry with you.  A 30 Day Forgiveness Challenge, with Desmond Tutu and his daughter gave us a tool for working through our Grievances.

** Taryn Galewind offered us encouragement through her “Rewards of Gratitude.

** We worked on Gratitude toward Friends, Family and Loved-ones, Bedtime Gratitude and finished off with Gratitude toward ourselves for ourselves.

Finally we have today, our 21st day. Dr. Maya Angelou speaks on Doing Right. She speaks on how “right may not be expedient, it may not be profitable, but it will satisfy your soul.

I love this Gratitude talk by Louie Schwartzberg It’s a view of Gratitude from the perspective of a child and an elderly man. (be sure to watch past the 3:40)

During the 21 Days of this Gratitude blog, I’ve had the pleasure of being present IN Gratitude. The very idea of cultivating ideas for you to read each day, has offered me tremendous gifts in ways I never knew possible. I’ve developed new friendships, renewed a few from the past and experienced the abundance of Gratitude as it grew and passed through me. I can’t thank you enough for your attentiveness and generosity in your responses. I have no idea what’s next or where this will go. If any of you have suggestions I’d be willing to listen and give them a try. Many of you closest to me know I’m working on a book and for those of you who don’t here goes:

My book, Controlling The Sunrise, is a journey of 12 individuals who’ve experienced cancer. Through their diagnosis and subsequent treatment, the interviewees have shared their experiences and how they have grown in positive ways because of the cancer. They have found their Passion or Purpose and have moved forward in that direction. I have had the profound pleasure of interviewing 6 remarkable men and woman from across the world. Canada, USA, Singapore, Australia and Italy. I’m currently searching for 6 others from Asia, Africa, Europe, South America and perhaps Antarctica.

I know the Gratitude lessons I’ve learned from my work here with all of you, will give me the grounding and sturdy base required to navigate this new and exciting direction. I have the support of my daughters, family & close friends. What more could a girl ask?

As for the 21 Days to Gratitude… I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thank you for walking hand-in-hand with me toward Gratitude.

 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Cancer, FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, INSPIRATION and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment