WHAT WAS I THINKING? 

This video was taken 2 hours into the day. WALIKING IN THE WOODS

The terrain changed drastically 10 minutes after this was shot. Five hours later, my enthusiasm to walk the final 5km vanished into thin air as I stumbled into the sleepy village of ZUBIRI. 

I’m sitting comfortably , freshly showered, drinking wine and listening to the host prepare dinner. Don’t even think of challenging my decision.  🙂  

Filling my water bottle . This depicts the ancient and lovely water fountains  on the trail. (The running water below, I believe, is run-off from the recent rains) 

  Sheep grazing in the spring sunshine 

Edit

Quaint village. The church bells were ringing as I rounded the end of this road. Spectacular!! 

  Newly paved paths. I’ll like it once nature distresses it a little.

 Graceful old building , I liked the look of.

  On shaky ground here. I’m hungry, hot and tired. Hun-ho-tie!! Not a Happy Camper!  Uprooted tree. There was Flash-Flooding, on the trail, last week. 

 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHAT WAS I THINKING? 

  1. Jayne says:

    Beautiful scenery, I so admire what you are doing (and a little jealous). Keep the posts coming, I’ve living vicariously through you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh gosh, that rocky, never-ending decent into Zubiri was one of the worst sections of the entire Camino for me physically. I hadn’t yet built up my endurance and it was hot and seemed to go on absolutely forever. Your post also reminds me of something my friend Jen wrote on her blog, Jen’s Camino Journey, “After a month on the Camino, I discovered that a day of walking, for me, is divided into three chapters. During the first third of the day, I feel enchanted by everything – the scenery, the flowers and birdsong, the exact shade of the blue sky. The second part of the walk, I’m focused. I turn inward and think. I look at my maps carefully to consider lunch options and distance. The final third of the walk, I hate my life. I hate my feet and I especially hate the Camino and wonder why on earth I’m doing it.”

    Anyway, congratulations on making it to Zubiri and a glass of wine! Ultreya! (Great pictures.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your friend is so right.. I laughed and agreed when I read your comment. It’s so true. Zubiri, that was a tough day. It’s all erased, (well almost) once you’ve hung your clothes on the line and found a comfy spot to rest.. Thanks for sharing…. Shauna

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

