IN-LOVE IN FLORENCE

It’s the end of a memorable stay in Florence. In 2 months, I made a few lovely new friends, picked grapes from a vine, revamped my book, encountered a porcupine, wild boar and several slippery Italian men. I moved three times, sat among roses, hail storms, horses and kittens. I rode a bike with a Hungarian woman in the basket, walked the streets with friends and shared an umbrella with my daughter. Savoured my share of pizza and too many glasses of wine. Pledged my undying love to the river and took a nap along its banks. From the time I stepped from the train, to my final goodbye, this city has transformed me…. once again.

It’s manageable to say goodbye when you know it won’t be the forever. Regardless the heart aches for that which we adore and revere. I love you my sweet Florence.

Oh, I’m sorry, did you think because of the title I was going to talk about my love life….

A sampling of videos I took while in Florence, my first crack at editing with iMovie:

Two performers playing guitar laying down...

Two performers playing guitar laying down…

I defaced public property, with my initials on a wall, over 5 years ago and it's still here!!

I defaced public property, carving my initials on a wall, 5 years ago and it’s still here!!

Afternoon giggle with a friend in Fiesole, Italy

Afternoon giggle with a friend in Fiesole, Italy

I wish I'd had a chance to ride in this car. Next best thing was a picture.

I wish I’d had a chance to ride in this car. Next best thing was a picture.

Love a well designed wine rack.

I can’t resist a well designed wine rack.

Clever window dressing

What time is it? Clever window dressing

Wine and Food... it's Italy

Red wine and delicious food… it’s Italy

 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, ITALY, TRAVEL, Tuscany, Vendemmia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

