REST-RECOVER-RESUME: DAY 13-23

Pushing through pain on The Camino will produce one of two results. You’ll reach the desired destination victorious or your body will teach you who’s boss. Video In hotel-Burgos 

 My first view of the Burrgos Catherdral

  

  How did they know this is how I feel after a long day walking? 

  

  Look up.. Look way way up. 

   

 inviting location 

 

After discovering I had tendinitis, I surrendered and relaxed for three days. It’s well known on the Camino, there’s always an option to take a bus or cab to the next village, if you find yourself unable to continue. It was my turn to push Camino guilt aside, I hopped a bus to Burgos, checked into a hotel and for the entire first day, held up in my room, relaxing, recovering, and savouring being alone.

In every village, town and city along this historical pilgrimage, I’ve been  amazed by the kindness of the Spanish people. 

The day I arrived it was raining and I went to buy groceries. It was no surprise to me when I found myself lost in a new city. I stood underneath an archway examining my map when a gentleman asked me if he could help. Even though he was walking the opposite direction, he turned and walked me personally to my hotel, pointing out places and people. I understood very little of what he said, his kindness was a gift and was offered selflessly. 

Another day, I was looking for a sport store to buy new runners. I was on the corner looking at a map, when a young man approached, asking if I knew where the bus station was. I felt good to be able to help, we located it on the map. It was across the street and over two streets. I smiled at him and marveled, how we can communicate even without a common language. 

When the light changed, he insisted I cross the street. It became clear, he thought I was looking for the bus station. He asked if I needed him to walk me there. When I declined his offer to chaperone, he walked off happy to have helped a pilgrim. The Spanish are so gracious, they help even when you don’t actually require any!  

 My favorite meal … 

  

 Loved the cheekyness of this place

  

video of me leaving Burgos

The result of having tendinitis has been that I’ve had to walk slower. Walking slower has changed my Camino. Due to my slow pace, I’m the one people walk pass, with that there is now an opportunity for them to talk. With the sign on my back: “what are you grateful for” it engages many people. 

  beautiful walk out of Burgos this morning 

  

 The rivers and bridges in Spain are a gift to the eyes. 

  

  Fork in the road.. You can see the yellow arrow on the wall. We follow arrows all day! 

VIDEO Day 17  

     sitting outside San Antón. i almost missed the treasure across the road as the gates were closed and it looked deserted. lucky for me fate intervened 

  

    Ruins of chapel in San Antón

video Day 18    

  San Antón Ruins 

    

  Dinner with a lively group of pilgrams in a 12th century  monastary in San Antón

 Video-Day 19 

Video- Lunch Break

  Walking the camino, the sun is always at your back.

 Video of my shadow walk 

 Mist in Sunrise 

Video-Day 23 Mothers Day

My Mothers Day walk offered a unique twist. A young Texan named Daniel, gave me the gift of company. We walked together for hours, then happened upon, what we affectionately called a Hippie Alburge. It came complete with a fantastic, if not unusual, host from Germany. He stayed to work at the place, after falling in love with the relaxed atmosphere over a year ago and has no plans of leaving.
I napped in the hammock, watched a donkey steal someone’s lunch, found comedy in the interaction between chickens, geese, dogs and a heard of sheep. I cooked dinner for the first time in weeks, sat around a campfire with new friends, then slept in a teepee. Without question, a unique Mothers Day.  

 Resting after a long hot walk. Mothers Day 

  

    Hugs for Daniel. He filled in as my son on Mothers Day 

  I shared the teepee with The Great Dane -Bjorn

There’s a pilgrim tradition to walk the Camino at night. It seems unusual and unsafe, however, it turned out to be a night of laughter, new friendship, bar hopping, singing, sharing life experience, a police chase, (or something like a police chase) and a sky filled with Spanish stars. We walked from 6p.m. until 2 a.m. We giggled ourselves to sleep under the night sky. By morning it was cold, damp, uncomfortable and the pilgrims were cranky. Coincidentally, we were camped out next to a 5* hotel. It didn’t take us long to decide to treat ourselves to private rooms with big bathtubs. Excellent decision!!  

  

 Church along the way on our night walk 

  

  We slept under the stars. . It was beautiful to start, however the ground was hard and cool by morning… burrr!

 There’s never a dull moment on the Camino. It is filled with pilgrims who nurture your spirit, open new doors, teach you, inspire you and often walk on the next day. It’s important to make every moment count here, you never know if you’ll seen these people again. It’s a brilliant metaphor for life. 

 Night walk with Bjorn and Helen 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

