A LITTLE PUSH TO SANTIAGO

I’m in the homestretch to Santiago

A LITTLE PUSH TO SANTIAGO

It’s push time on my Camino. To this point, I’ve never had much of a plan as to how or when I’d reach Santiago. It’s been more about the journey than the end result. Along the path today, there are markers every 1/2 km indicating how far to Santiago and it’s given me an insensitive to reach my final destination. Fortunately it hasn’t manifested in a frantic pace, only one of joyful completion.  

Church in the light of dawn

           

 VIDEO: Day 37-My plan for Santiago-I didn’t say it was a well thought out plan. 

 

Lovely place to stop for morning coffee 

  

Oldest tree in this region

  

beauty

  

 I had the fortune to met this lovely centered man from australia, Simon, who is opening a retreat fir pilgrans. complete with yoga, massage, reki, meditation and quality food.  

 There are individuals you meet who give all they can to the pilgrims walking by. Simon was one of the many gifts I encountered at the right place, right time. I was hungry (I’d missed breakfast that day) and tired, the next village, 5Km away. I came upon what looked like an abandoned building with a table filled with fruit and an assortment of healthy goodies at the entrance. It was one of the many offerings you find along the Camino, for anyone passing by. If you chose, you leave a donation, if not, it’s given without expectation. 

Simon, an Australian gentleman in the courtyard, was the owner of the soon to be renovated establishment. He was speaking with one of the 3 pilgrims gathered. He invited me (the others, declined) to join him for breakfast. How did he know? Angels on the Camino, appear when you need them the most. 

 VIDEO: Day 38 (not 28) I’m walking to Santiago (not St Jean) Must be the increased km causing my brain to misfire… 

Bridge into Portamarin

 

 Creative use of slate to build a picnic bench

  

 Flowers display dignity in spite of their harsh surroundings

  

 quiet place of contimplation

 Now that I’ve made a decision to move forward my feet and mind have kicked into high gear. With my blisters healed, my tendinitis under control and my goal within walking distance (funny, considering that is all I’ve been doing for the past 6 weeks) The path has become richer, with increased meaning. 

 VIDEO: Day 40-Feeling excited I’m only one day from Santiago

 

 A few months ago, a 25km sign would have little meaning except “how fast will my car get there in?” 

These marker stones give your goal definition. I can’t say I was thrilled to see them at first, however, like everything the Camino teaches, the lesson for me was: accepting what is offered, no matter what!  

VIDEO:Day 40-Avoiding a boisterous group of pilgrims

I’ve be fortunate with the weather on my trip. Less than 3 days of spitting rain. I did have 3-4 days of bitter cold winds though. I was grateful for my Gortex gear on those days. 

A PUSH TO SANTIAGO 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Camino de Santiago, Enjoying Life by Slowing Down, FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, INSPIRATION, TRAVEL, Walking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A LITTLE PUSH TO SANTIAGO

  1. postcardtraveller says:

    Gratitude girl, I have been wondering where you were. Glad you’re nearly there. I haven’t seen you in weeks, not since Honillos when I couldn’t get into Casa L’abuela. Buen camino! Hugs from person who gave you 3 ibuprofen tablets for your tendonitis in Villafranca Mont de Oca.

    Like

    • Hola… so good to hear from you. Your ibuprofen tablets helped me through a painful day: thank you! How was your walk? Buen Camino for your life. Thank you for the note. Love the tag-line “Gratitude girl” Made me giggle and remember our conversation over breakfast. Take good care. Shauna

      Liked by 1 person

      • postcardtraveller says:

        I’m in Santiago tomorrow, but leaving in afternoon to San Lazaro to change hotels. Hope to see you one last time. Hope your slower pace enabled a richer journey. If not, hugs and Buen camino. Jennifer

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

