WALK WITH ME

The commencement of training for my Camino began a few weeks back. With a mid April, start date in glaring view, I’ve stepped up my conditioning to walking several hours per day. The Camino de Santiago requires me to walk 26km (16.1 miles) each and every day for 30+ days. Daunting to say the least. (When I say, “I’ve stepped up my scheduled training”, I mean that in loose terms)

Camino de SantiagoMy mountaineering friend and trainer Laurie Skreslet, has agreed to keep me on track by cracking the proverbial whip when I break into childish whining and absurd justifications. I suspect he’s heard every clever excuse I have stashed up my newly adorned Patagonia sleeve.

it's too hard

This weekend, I recorded my first VideoBlog~Vlog, introducing the pilgrimage. As the trail is physically demanding, I’ll be filming Blogs in place of wordy postings, while walking the Camino. Be prepared for spectacular scenery, unkempt hair, child-like whimpering and preposterous rational. Not necessary in that order.

Click here to watch my 1st: Walk With Me~Vlog

A humorous side-note: one of my daughters thought I looked suspiciously happy, asking if I was on drugs while filming it. She laughed and added, “Mom, I can see you’re high on life.”

High or not, I’m feeling the love, support and encouragement from my family and friends.

Tell me, have you ever challenged yourself in a physical way? This is a first for me…

 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Camino de Santiago, Gratitude, INSPIRATION, Laurie Skreslet, Positivity, Spain, St. John Pied de Port, TRAVEL, Walking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

