ARRIVAL IN SANTIAGO Day 40

My plan to reach Santiago on Sunday has been foiled. I neglected to consider one tiny-tiny detail, it’s Saturday on the Camino and all the Albergue, Pensions & Hotels are booked. Seems the other 2000 pilgrims on the Camino, learned of my brilliant plan to reach Santiago on Sunday morning in order to attend the pilgrims mass. Only difference between them and me, they made reservations or arrived early in the day. I did neither… 

 Many of the lilies are finished for the season, this one held on and graced the path

  

Loved this creatuve use of slate for this picnic table. One of my many pit-stops

   

 Excitement every 1/2 km thanks to these markers

  

 Beauty in the face of adverse conditions

 

 

  This marker was littered with signitures.. aparently they want to leave a tiny mark to make it real!! 

  

Plan B. Walk the additional 6km for a grand total my last day of 45. Far beyond anything I’ve walked to date. I’m running on adrenaline and pure excitement.

VIDEO: My unplanned Plan encounters a slight wrinkle..

My day consists of slightly overcast skies, shaded paths and leisurely rest-stops. These circumstances saved my last day walking. 

The trek into Santiago is relatively easy, however from your first glimpse of the city, it takes you an additional 60-90 min of walking to reach the cathedral. The time delay, for me, is welcome, I have no intention of rushing this final day.    

 I place a rock on the final marker.

  

Santiago did not disappoint as you’ll see from the video below. I am enchanted and exceedingly moved by the experience. 

VIDEO: Walking into Santiago 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Camino de Santiago, Confronting your fears, Enjoying Life by Slowing Down, Gratitude, INSPIRATION, Spain, TRAVEL, Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ARRIVAL IN SANTIAGO Day 40

  1. postcardtraveller says:

    You walked 45? You are a very naughty gratitude girl (with tendonitis). I moved out of Santiago to stay at San Lazaro. You can still get accommodation here. Take number 6 bus which gets you right into Santiago. Good for departing to Lavacolla airport – which of course, we walked past.

    Like

Leave a Reply

