IT ALL STARTS HERE ~ Day 20

IT ALL STARTS HERE ~ Day 20

For close to 3 weeks, we have been Cultivating Gratitude for the sweetness of our lives, our family, friends, inspirational teachers, pets, co-workers, (interesting how pets came before co-workers) as well as the multitude of insignificant and monumental moments which have shaped us, changed us or taught us.

Today, I’d like you to focus on the  indomitable force that comes from within. Your Light ~ Your love ~ Your Spirit.

So often we forget to treat ourselves with the same love, compassion and caring we so effortlessly extend to others. When was the last time you thanked yourself for a kindness you extended to you? Wouldn’t  a word of encouragement for the simple and or complex achievements be worth the 5 seconds it takes to offer it? Consider the moments in your day when you could begin a ritual of being kind to YOU.

 

Suggestions to remind you:

#1 ~ Press pause on your morning alarm and give yourself a few words of encouragement. I can’t think of a kinder way to begin or end your day.

#2 ~ While bruising your teeth, take a look in your own eyes, Cultivate a little Gratitude for the reflection in the mirror. No need to focus on your flaws, you’ve become an expert at negative affirmations, try on a few positive thoughts this morning.

#3 ~ While driving, on a bus, train or bike, take one slow breath in, while holding your breath in your lungs for 5 seconds, think of one kind attribute you know about YOU.  Release and repeat.

#4 ~ Program a positive thought you know to be true about you, into your phone, sent an Alert to go off at 10:00 – 2:00 – and 5:00 o’clock.

Take time today to get to know who you are free of all the labels we place on ourselves: friend, daughter, husband, artist, worker, boss, etc….. For a few minutes today consider your accomplishments, your kindnesses, your attributes. Invest a portion of this day to the most important of all individuals.  Step back and get to know you.

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Confronting your fears, FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, INSPIRATION and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

