A TRICKLE OF FEAR

Camino-de-Santiago-2005-278-1024x550Now that I’ve made this declaration to walk the Camino de Santiago, I’m being tested on my commitment. Last night, I woke to my heart skipping in my chest. Not the skip you feel when Matthew McConaughey removes his shirt: oh-no, far from it.

Mattew It’s the grip of fear that races through your solar-plexus at 3 am asking: “what makes you think YOU can do this, it’s 791 kilometres?”  Fear is malicious, it allows doubt to flourish and is packed with clever sayings and shameless common sense. Where is Matthew when you need a cuddle?

I came across an author from Boise Idaho, Kurt Koontz. He wrote an inspiring book on his month walking The Camino titled; A Million Steps.

A Million StepsOh My God, a million steps?   One MILLION…..Seriously?

See how quickly I fall into panic mode. I know I’m allowed to back out, this is a choice and all I have to do is make another choice.

One snag, The Camino is begging me to walk with her. (Is a pilgrimage a Him or a Her?) I’ve decided it’s a Her. Only a female entity would provoke you physically, pack the journey with quiet moments allowing inner growth, then place it in a remote location, fostering space between your previous life and the opportunity for expansion.

camino de santiago

To quell my fear and give this journey meaning, I’ve decided to dedicate this walk to my favourite topic: GRATITUDE. If you’re interested in following my facebook group, click the link below, I’d be honoured to have you join: CULTIVATING GRATITUDE. I post a little ditty on Gratitude every 2-3 days.

In addition, to expand the power in Gratitude, I’ll write about my time on The Camino through blogging. Firstly, this Blog requires a spectacular name. I’m open to any and all suggestions. Here are a few I came up with.

1. Walking 4 Gratitude

2. Cultivating Gratitude (not exactly new)

3. Your brilliant suggestion goes right here!

Here’s to kicking fear in the arse….

 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Camino de Santiago, Confronting your fears, Enjoying Life by Slowing Down, FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, INSPIRATION, Spain, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A TRICKLE OF FEAR

  1. Nadine says:

    When will you be walking the Camino? It’s such an amazing experience (I’m going back for round two!), but I hear you about fear. Even though I’ve already walked and overcame so many of my fears… they’re creeping back in, once again. But there is nothing like the experience of facing those fears and doing it anyway. Good luck as you prepare for your Camino, I can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Nadine, congrats on your 2nd Camino. I’ve heard about those who’ve walked it several times. My hat is off to you. I’m planning mine mid April. I know it’ll be a life changing month and I can’t wait to get there.
      Thank you for the support… Shauna 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm. I like the names you’ve come up with so far. Like Nadine, I am headed back to Spain this summer for round 2, this time on the Norte and Primitivo. It was tempting to return to the Francés because it would be safer in its familiarity but there is something exciting and wonderful about a new and unknown experience. I look forward to following yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

