AN EXPERIMENT IN GRATITUDE ~ DAY 14

AN EXPERIMENT IN GRATITUDE

It has been scientifically proven that your Happiness is in direct correlation to the amount of Gratitude you show. I know, I know just another study right? It seems to me you can’t go wrong on this one though. I doubt they will come back and say they were wrong, considering history has been reporting on Gratitude for thousands of years. Leaders, sages, holy men and women all agree on this one point. Gratitude WILL produce enduring Happiness. Like anything, it takes practice to build your Gratitude muscle.

Have you ever thanked another person for the influence they have had in your life? Below is a YouTube video taking a group of people through an experiment. They had test subjects write down a letter describing a person who they are most Grateful for in their life. As a surprise to the subjects, they asked them to call that person and read the letter. It’s called  An Experiment In Gratitude and I personally find it a brilliant demonstration in the Power Of Gratitude.

 Our lesson for today is to write down one such letter/paragraph and read it out loud to the person you wrote it about. If you can’t bring yourself to read it to the person, send it in the mail. Snail mail if possible. It doesn’t have to be a full letter, it can be one or two paragraphs. Describe how their actions improved your life. Thank them for their contribution. If they are no longer with us, read it out loud as you stand in front of a mirror. Remember to look at yourself when you are reading it.

To me this Experiment is filled with Growth. I dedicate this blog to Mary Moss a truly remarkable woman with a gift for Gratitude. Mary was the mother of a friend of mine Maddie Moss. Maddie is a woman who never lets a compliment slip by, a quality she inherited from her mother. Mary passed away in July of last year and she was a “quote machine”. She found an opportunities for Growth in most every situation. One of my favourite quotes she said to her children, when they were in the middle of a difficult life challenge was: “THERE YOU GO, GROWING AGAIN”.  To me this saying takes what is perceived as a hardship and allows Growth to flourish.

MARY MOSS

For many of us this Experiment In Gratitude will be a challenge. Consider it an opportunity to Grow. Who knows, you might even enjoy it and spread your Gratitude to a multitude of friends, family, co-workers, teachers, parents, siblings, cousins…. the list is endless. Have some fun with it. Start slow if you have to, build up to the one you are most uncomfortable imagining yourself writing to. There is where the real growth resides.

An Experiment In Gratitude

 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, INSPIRATION. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

