FORGETTING TO REMEMBER

“The Camino whispers to your heart, gently reminding you of what you once knew made you happy.” ~ Shauna Marie MacDonald  

 Puenta La Reina 

One of the many gifts the Camino provides, is the ability to be in the present moment. When focus is reduced to: Your Feet, The Trail, The Views and The Now, retention of ordinary details, once significant, evaporates. 

On the trail, day-to-day recollection has a way of drifting away with the morning breeze. Ask a pilgrim where he or she slept the previous night and it often takes a minute of head scratching, or scanning their guide book, to force memory into action. How is it one can possibly forget a detail as simple as, where you laid your head, ten hours before? 
We live in a world of instant-gratification, with global access to information and people, a keystroke away. It takes a concerted effort to disconnect.  “Work-Eat-Sleep-Repeat”
The Camino shrinks your world to “Walk-Eat-Sleep-Repeat”. There’s a quality to learning from life when you pull back from the hundreds of worries and details, demanding your attention each and every day. 
There’s a rhythm in walking kilometer after kilometer, it gently dissolves the unnecessary details, allowing room for life, love, growth and experience to expand. 

VIDEO: Back in Barcelona with my family and a new appreciation for life.

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Barcelona, Camino de Santiago, FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, INSPIRATION, Walking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

