FINDING MY STRIDE

Florence is the city where my heart resides….

Loving walking along the Arno

Loving walking along the Arno

Iconic peek-a-boo view of the Duomo

Iconic peek-a-boo view of the Duomo

I’ve loved the past few days following the rhythm of this place. The cobbled streets, the buildings, people and the road to my apartment along Via de Palmerino. I’m staying in an apartment new to me. It’s on the second floor at Residenza del Palmerino and I share the kitchen with Federica, her husband and son.

Pranzo (lunch) in my room.

Pranzo (lunch) in my room.

It’s a pleasure to spend time with the three of them as they welcome me into their home like family. The road leading from the bus to their home is one of my favourite walks. I took this video this morning on my way home from the market.

Watch: Walking via del Palmerino 

You’ll be pleased to know, I’ve been working (a little) on my book and taking in the sights and flavours of Florence (a lot).

Dinner at Palmerino

Dinner at Palmerino

Funny thing about Italy, when you come here to work, the overwhelming charm of the county seduces you to walk, experience, take-in.

I love pictures of bicycles

I love pictures of bicycles

It’s not as easy to work as I thought it would be.

Tiny eggplant.

Tiny eggplant.

IMG_0892Last night I met with Monica and Donatella at restaurant for an aperitivo (drink and appetizer).

Restaurant in Florence

Restaurant in Florence

We enjoyed a leisurely visit, then slipped away for gelato at our favourite little place outside the city centre. Charming restaurant in Florence

I took this little video as I walked to meet Monica and Donatella : Watch: On the town in Florence

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Gratitude, INSPIRATION, TRAVEL, Tuscany and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

