ASSIMILATING and INTEGRATING

FIVE things I didn’t  know about training for THE CAMINO.

#5 ~ People shopping or working at MEC, Atmosphere or REI, ask questions such as, “What brand of socks do you prefer and why?”  My response doesn’t exactly satisfy their query: “This colour matches my hiking boots.”

A collection of Smartwool socks

A collection of Smartwool socks

#4 ~ When you don a backpack in the city, you’re suddenly mysterious & intriguing. Enquiring minds want to know…?images-1

#3 ~ Feet become your focus. You even take pictures of them.

I discovered I was tying my shoes too tight. Problem solved.

I discovered I was tying my shoes too tight. Numb toe issue solved.

#2 ~ In the hiking world, there is a portable container called a WaterBladder. Seriously, they couldn’t find a better name than bladder?  Not to worry folks, I’ll alert Wikipedia and have it changed to WaterOnTap

water bladder

#1 ~ Hair & Make-up take a backseat to Gear & Function. What will become of my lipgloss collection?images-2

My 2nd video on YouTube: Sunshine and Shoes

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Camino de Santiago, FRIENDSHIP, Gratitude, Hiking, INSPIRATION, Spain, TRAVEL, Walking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ASSIMILATING and INTEGRATING

  1. Agnes McLin says:

    Shauna,

    Is my sister Marie Siller on your list of people your are sending your bog to about your trip. Might be nice for her as she is struggling with her lung cancer?

    Her e- mail address:

    lsiller@shaw.ca

    Auntie Agnes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

