21 DAYS TO CULTIVATING GRATITUDE

Last night I gave a speech for a group of open-hearted men and women I called Cultivating Gratitude. What came of this speech was an idea for Italian Living. 
21 Days To Cultivating Gratitude….
 
For me, every lesson that has gifted my life, has encouraged me to look for gratitude in my thoughts, feelings and actions. Usually the “lesson” is painful and causes swelling and a bruise. Then I have to dig deep and search out the positive.
For most of us simply dabbling in a good idea like Gratitude isn’t likely to transform our lives. Dabbling allows you to dip your toes in the stream without completely changing your course. You feel the current, you’re aware of the cool water and gentle flow, however a river, like gratitude, has a depth and character that can only be appreciated from within its all encompassing embrace.
We can stand on the banks for hours, gazing at the river as it flows past. Not until we allow ourselves to wade in, stand on the uneven rocks and feel the strength of the river do we truly EXPERIENCE it for ourselves. Gratitude is like the river, you have to get a little wet before you can embrace what being grateful has to offer you. 
Creating this blog has been a celebration in gratitude for me. When you message me or respond to my posts, I experience an incredible warmth for the remainder of my day. Simply knowing there are people out there who read my words offers me joy and for this I thank you for dropping in.
th-1
With the arrival of spring, I’ve decided to post a daily blog on Cultivating Gratitude. For 21 days starting tomorrow May 1, 2014: I will offer suggestions as to how we can grow and cultivate finding joy in our lives through a daily practice of germinating gratitude. Like a seed we plant in the soil, it requires light, nutrition, water and opportunity.  It takes approximately 21 days to form a new habit. Seems remarkable when you think how quickly we fall into negative patterns. The law of growth is the same for negative habits as for positive.
Habits require a place to germinate (our minds)
Light (a reason for the habit)
Food (thoughts and actions)
Water (the thoughts we continuously place our attention on)
Opportunity (repeating the action over and over)
This 21 day practice will be an opportunity to replace those weed seeds with seeds of a joyful nature. 
th-2
I look forward to hearing your thoughts and how these 21 Days Of Cultivating Gratitude have changed the way you experience life. 
I came across this lovely quote by Melody Beattie:
“Gratitude unlocks the fullness of life. It turns what we have into enough, and more. It turns denial into acceptance, chaos to order, confusion to clarity. It can turn a meal into a feast, a house into a home, a stranger into a friend. Gratitude makes sense of our past, brings peace for today and creates a vision for tomorrow.”
See you tomorrow morning for Day One:
The 5 Steps To Cultivating Gratitude 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Gratitude, INSPIRATION and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 21 DAYS TO CULTIVATING GRATITUDE

  1. Cherelyn says:

    Are you ever coming back!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Do Gratitude Journals make us grateful ? | My Life. One Story at a Time.

Leave a Reply

