TOP TEN REASON TO VISIT PARIS

It’s never easy to limit oneself to ten reasons to visit Paris, however for a short trip these are my picks. 

•10-Buildings and Museums: No trip would be complete without a visit to The Eiffel Tower – the most recognized & controversial (among Parisians), of all landmarks. See it twice, once during the day up-close & personal-then again after sunset (at the beginning of every hour), watch it as it sparkles with 20,000 lights. Find a spot on one a Paris many bridges OR sit next to the Seine with a baguette, local cheese and a bottle of french wine…..Spectacular!

With my daughter Bree on our BigTire Bicycle Tour...

With my daughter on a 4 hr  ‘FatTireBicycleTour

The Arc de Triomphe: I’ve come across more than one Arch de Triomphe in Europe, however the one in Paris sits haltingly at the end of the Champs Elysees. Twelve roads lead to and away from this landmark, be sure to climb to the observatory at rush hour, and watch the officers in their uniforms and white gloves as they direct traffic. It’s an art…

Arc de Triomphe

•9-The Food and Wine: Sample the many delicious cheeses, breads, patisseries, pates, superb French wines, the gourmet restaurants, and if you have an extra day a visit to the Champagne Region is a treat unto itself.

•8-The Shopping and Fashion: Visit the unique department stores of Lafayette and Printemps. Window shop along the Champs Elysees, or simply people watch from a street side cafe.

•7-The Museums: The Louvre Museum, of course you’ll stop in to visit Mona Lisa & Venus de Milo, however it would take approximately 25 days availing 24 hours per day to see everything. Best to pack a BIG lunch!!

The Louvre

-The Louvre is breath taking, however my preferred museum is Musée d’Orsay  it’s housed in the former Orsay railway station, I find it quiet intimate, and easy to navigate. Visit my all time favourite painting produced by Gustave Caillebotte entitled: The Floor Plainers, (let me know if you like it too)

the-floor-scrapers

-The Musée Rodin has a collection of wonderful sculptures, including “The Thinker.”

•6-The Churches: Notre Dame Cathedral, dates back to 1163. Be sure to walk completely around the Cathedral as each view is spectacular on its own.

Notre Dame Cathedral I personally enjoy this view facing the River.

The Sacre Coeur Basilica, located high above the City in Montmartre. The unique artisan shoppers surrounding the Basilica make it a delightful few hours on a sunny afternoon.

•5-The History: La Conciergerie, famous as the prison, where so many were held before execution at the guillotine during the French Revolution in the 1790s.

La conciergerieThe Palace of Versailles, is outside of Paris, however well worth it the trip.  Be sure to Leave time to walk the gardens.

hall of mirrors

•4-The Parks & Gardens: Walk in the Jardin des Tuileries (Tuileries Gardens) on your way from the Louvre Museum or after shopping on the Champs Elysees. As my friend Gyorgyi lives close by, we pack a picnic lunch and linger on sun drenched afternoons.

OR Stroll through Luxembourg Gardens where you can sit and listen to music, play a game of boules,(bocci) or watch the time-honoured tradition of sail boat racing in the central fountain.sailboats

•3-The River Seine; take a diner cruise on the River Seine right through the heart of Paris.  While you dine take in the spectacular views past Notre Dame, the Louvre, the Eiffel Tower and the romantic bridges of Paris.

•2-The Walking:In my view, when in Paris, get out and walk, even in the rain. Walk around at your leisure or take an Organized Theme Walk with a local expert guide. Although I’m not one for Organized Tours, they give you the information you’re looking for in a relaxed carefree atmosphere. None of that nasty reading or hauling around of books!!

•1-The Bridges:It may seem odd to list Bridges as #1, however the romance & beauty of these works of art, charm me beyond belief.

It would be impossible to include all that Paris has to offer: I would be remiss if I failed to include the Concert Halls and the Opera House. You’ll never run out of new adventures or quiet retreats. 

Have I missed your favourite?  Leave a message below so the rest of us can see it too!!! 

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in INSPIRATION, PARIS, TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

