(part 2) – DIECI MINUTI – TEN MINUTES!!!

DIECI MINUTI – part 1

I hesitantly approach the driver and ask in English when he anticipates we will arrive at the airport. His response is a hissed:        “dieci minuti”!!!

TEN MINUTES!!!

I return to my seat and take a slow deep breath. My first instinct is to scream in frustration considering I have no idea where I am or where I could find a cab in this neighbourhood.  I’m angry at myself for allowing this short-fused man in blue polyester to alter my eagerly awaited, joyful day.

I am sure that if I show my impatience he will find a reason to postpone his scheduled departure time even further. I give myself a private two-minute lecture on the power of positive thinking, and try meditating to calm my nerves.

I don’t think this is working today..

And the result of my ‘OHM’moment?

An irrepressible urge to strangle the little twit perched behind the wheel – a result which suggests I need just a little more practice on my meditation technique.

After a painful fifteen minutes, Mr. Happy Pants leaves the station and we arrive at the airport a full two hours after I left home and thirty minutes after Haithem and Eric’s plane was due to land.  Racing frantically to the arrivals section of the terminal, I find to my delight that their plane is delayed. I position myself centre stage at the arrival gate, my wide expectant grin matching the joy in my heart. Less than three minutes later I spot the beaming face of my belovedHaithem and Eric’s wide friendly smile. We embrace as if we’ve been apart for years, when in actuality it’s been only four weeks.

Haithem – Shauna – Eric

We spend the next four days immersed in a whirlwind of activity.  Museums, shopping, and long walks fill our days.  Each evening sees us devouring the scrumptious local cuisine paired with bottles of glistening red wine, dissolving with the joyful continuous laughter only close friends share.

Art is painted in the streets, daily

Hot Chocolate on a cool afternoon

Freaky street performer

As we say good-bye at my garden gate, tears fill my eyes.  I hug Haithem extra hard while Eric loads the suitcases in the back of the taxi.  While knowing I’m fortunate to have friends here for this brief four-day visit, I’m feeling confusion and a conflict of emotions surrounding my new life in this foreign yet familiar country.  It will be months before I see them or any of my family and friends again, and although I’m so comfortable and contented living here, I dream of living two separate yet parallel lives.                                  One is in Canada with my family, friends and all the comfort and security of my Canadian life, and the other in Italy with Michelangelo, ancient rock walls, and the astounding beauty of Tuscany…

(next week — NEIGHBORS, EGGS AND TWIRLING ADJECTIVES)

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however, something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say a final farewell to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to (part 2) – DIECI MINUTI – TEN MINUTES!!!

  1. Melanie Stevenson says:

    Hello/Ciao!

    Susanne is a mutual friend of ours and she introduced me to your blog which I am enjoying so much. Thank you for sharing all your adventures and insights with us. A couple of years ago we spent a week at a cooking school near Sorrento and I fell in love with Italy – all its vagaries, inefficiency, lust for life/food/wine, not to mention style and beauty. Your writing is wonderful – don’t doubt your talent.

    I am looking forward to your next adventure.

    Best regards,

    Melanie

    Like

    • Ciao Melanie,

      Any friend of Susanne’s is a friend of mine. She has been in my life for over thirty years encouraging me with kind words and constant support.
      I’m so glad you are enjoying my blog. It’s gratifying to know people are sharing in my adventures in my beloved Italy.
      Thank you for your positive words.

      Shauna

      Like

Leave a Reply

