ITALY AS A METAPHOR

A  friend asked me this morning to describe my life living in Italy with a metaphor…. due to the fact I absolutely LOVE using metaphors, and or comparisons to describe to others how I feel, what I’m thinking, my dreams, an amusing story, etc…… I’ve taken the liberty to list a “few” mental images on how Italian Living  feels to me:

A trusting hand laced in minehands laced together

Butterflies stirring inside meButterflies inside

The sun as it warms me from the outside inSunshine on my face

The silky tresses my hair forms on my shoulders & back while walking in warm summer rainwalking in the rain

A view that’s filtered through a field of fragrant spring flowersview

Iron and old glassiron and old glass

A knowing glance from a trusted friendMy dear Gyorgyi

Jasmine growing outside my bedroom windowjasmine

100 Spirited fireflies circling me at dusk as I relax in my backyard vineyardfireflies

The aroma released while heating olive oil, & fresh garlic garlic & oil

Line dried sheetsline dried sheets

The scent of a newborn in my armsthe scent

The grace and dignity of an ancient stone wallstonewall

Bicycle wheels over loose cobblestonesbicycle

Shadows at dawnsunrise at dawn

Delicate violet-hues of wisteria hanging off a sun-bleached arbourWisteria @ Giardino Bardini

The perfect espresso The perfect espress

The whisper of a summer breeze as it rustles the emerald leaves above my hammockhammoc

Christmas lights dusted in silver-white frostchristmas lights

I’d love to hear what are the metaphors you use to describe your favourite people places or things?

next post: CELEBRATE PARISIAN STYLE


About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say my final goodbye to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ITALY AS A METAPHOR

  1. Pingback: Italy, love it or leave it | Federico's blog

Leave a Reply

