OBSERVATIONS

A few personal observations….

*New Generation Italians find comfort in covering-up the old.  They smear brick buildings & ancient stone walls with plaster and concrete.  The old stands resolute… the plaster & concrete crack, relinquishing their weak facade, ultimately tumbling to earth.  What was stands in defiance.  I pay homage to the patience and persistence of history.

*Italians are a people who use their hands to express enthusiasm on a daily basis when : talking, touching, working, laughing, thinking, eating, talking, smiling, arguing, loving, drinking, laughing, talking…. did I mention talking?  :-}

*Italians protect their external world with steel bars and iron gates.  Who or what are they attempting to keep out?  Who or what are they attempting to keep in?

Iron work by: Felix Cois, from Pula (Sardinia)

*Italians are a people of exceptional culture that is deeply rooted in history.  A past characterized by great leaders, and numerous tragedies inflicted upon their people… often those tragedies were perpetrated by their own people.  Conversely, in hardship or troubling times, they stand together raising their fists and flags in unison, revealing unyielding honour for a culture they believe is worth preserving.

*Yesterday while stuck in traffic, I noticed a shopkeeper arguing with a customer.  Voices raised, hands waving, eyes wide, indignation and frustration boiling over as they both tried to make their opinion known to the other.  Extraordinarily, in the time it took for the traffic to clear, I realized they were not on the verge of exchanging blows, but merely stating their individual points of view.   They parted with sincere handshakes, pats on shoulders, and warm smiles.  Their opposing points of view accepted without malice or animosity.  My guess is the discussion tomorrow will be equally enthusiastic.

*Similar to their expressive language…… in life, Italians leave no syllables left unspoken.

*Italian women know how to wear BLACK, and make it look like RED.

*It is common to encounter grey haired 86-year-old women riding faded blue bicycles returning from their daily excursion to market.  Add to this picture shocking red lipstick,  stylish skirts,  support hose attached to garter-belts, and high-heeled designer shoes.

***I adore Italy….

next weeks post: Resume For A First Date

About Italian Living

I'm an interior decorator from Canada. I own a design firm. I have three grown daughters who are confidant women living busy lives. I love my family my friends and my life, however something is missing. December 3rd, my eyes open at 3:33 a.m. It's time to fulfill my lifelong dream of living in Italy..... I rent my house, pack my bags, say my final goodbye to all the people I love most in this world and hop on a plane January 13th.... alone. This is my story...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OBSERVATIONS

  1. Interesting, still I\’ve came accross one completely opposite blog post the other day

  2. Rachael Grist says:

    Flicking through the internet, I was pleasantly surprised to see you’ve photographed my grandfather’s beautiful iron work! His name was Felix Cois, from Pula (Sardinia). Very well known for his incredible skills as a blacksmith. Makes me proud to see his work is still appreciated and around town.

    • Dear Rachael,
      I’m so pleased you advised me of your talented grandfather. It must be heartwarming to know his works lives on.
      I’ve added his name to the picture… Shauna

Leave a Reply

